Benzofluoranthene [sum b+j+k]

formula: C20H12; CAS Registry Number: 205-99-2 (Benzo[b]fluoranthene); 205-82-3 (Benzo[j]fluoranthene); 207-08-9 (Benzo[k]fluoranthene)

Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons with four six-membered rings and one five-membered ring

In the samples of the German Environmental Specimen Bank, benzo[b]fluoranthene, benzo[j]fluoranthene and benzo[k]fluoranthene are determined together.

The substances are present in fossil fuels and are formed during the incomplete combustion of organic materials. They are detected in automobile and industrial emissions, in tobacco smoke, and in food. In the atmosphere, they are predominantly particle-bound and can enter soils and waters through wet and dry deposition.

Benzo[b]fluoranthene, benzo[j]fluoranthene and benzo[k]fluoranthene are persistent in the environment and accumulate strongly in environmental compartments. Benzo[k]fluoranthene is classified as a substance of very high concern under REACH. It is carcinogenic, persistent, bioaccumulative and toxic (PBT) and very persistent and very bioaccumulative (vPvB). Benzo[b]fluoranthene and benzo[j]fluoranthene are also mutagenic and carcinogenic in animal studies and are classified as possibly carcinogenic to humans.

The three substances are on the EU list of PAHs, which are recommended for monitoring. Benzo[b]fluoranthene and Benzo[k]fluoranthene are also among the 16 PAHs included by the U.S. EPA in the list of priority pollutants (EPA list).

Specimen

Sampling area

Sampling period

1985 - 2020

Benzofluoranthen [Summe b+j+k]

Formel: C20H12; CAS-Nummer: 205-99-2 (Benzo[b]fluoranthen); 205-82-3 (Benzo[j]fluoranthen); 207-08-9 (Benzo[k]fluoranthen)

Polyaromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe mit vier Sechser- und einem Fünferring

Benzo[b]fluoranthen, Benzo[j]fluoranthen und Benzo[k]fluoranthen werden in den Proben der Umweltprobenbank gemeinsam bestimmt.

Die Stoffe kommen in fossilen Brennstoffen vor und entstehen bei der unvollständigen Verbrennung von organischen Materialien. Sie werden in Auto- und Industrieabgasen, in Tabakrauch und auch in Lebensmitteln nachgewiesen. In der Atmosphäre liegen sie vorwiegend partikelgebunden vor und können durch Nass- und Trockendeposition in Böden und Gewässer gelangen.

Benzo[b]fluoranthen, Benzo[j]fluoranthen und Benzo[k]fluoranthen sind in der Umwelt persistent und reichern sich stark in Umweltkompartimenten an. Benzo[k]fluoranthen ist unter REACH als besonders besorgniserregender Stoff eingestuft. Es ist krebserzeugend, persistent, bioakkumulativ und toxisch (PBT) und sehr persistent und sehr bioakkumulierend (vPvB). Auch Benzo[b]fluoranthen und Benzo[j]fluoranthen sind in Tierversuchen mutagen und krebserzeugend und sind als möglicherweise krebserregend für den Menschen eingestuft.

Die drei Stoffe stehen auf der EU Liste von PAK (Polyzyklische Aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe), deren Untersuchung empfohlen wird. Benzo[b]fluoranthen und Benzo[k]fluoranthen gehören außerdem zu den 16 PAK, die von der U.S. EPA in die Liste der prioritären Schadstoffe aufgenommen wurden (EPA-Liste).

Probenarten

  • In Nord- und Ostsee weit verbreitete Muschelart, die zu den wichtigsten essbaren Muscheln zählt

Probenahmegebiete

Untersuchungszeitraum

1985 - 2020