Synthetic musk compounds: decreasing concentrations of artificial fragrances mirror changing usage patterns

Polycyclic musk compounds are synthetic fragrances that are widely used in personal care products, washing- and cleansing agents, papers and textiles. They enter the environment via waste water and sewage sludge. Some musk compounds are toxic to aquatic biota, bioaccumulative and endorcrine disruptive. Among the polycyclic musk compounds detected in bream from German rivers and blue mussels from the North and Baltic Sea, HHCB (trade name: Galaxolide) and AHTN (trade name: Tonalide) dominated. During the study period (1986-2003) HHCB and AHTN contamination was significantly higher in bream than in mussels. A general decrease in contamination is noticeable since the mid 1990s.

HHCB and AHTN are the most relevant polycyclic musk compounds in terms of production and use. Both compounds are not fully eliminated in wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) and can thus be detected in WWTP effluents. In surface waters AHTN, but not HHCB, is susceptible to photodegradation. Both are lipophilic and bioaccumulative.
In order to assess the HHCB- and AHTN-contamination of aquatic organisms in German waters, a retrospective monitoring was performed using bream from different German rivers and blue mussels from the North and the Baltic Sea.

Contamination of blue mussel

HHCB and AHTN were detected in all mussel samples from the southern North Sea (sampling site Eckwarderhörne) with concentrations ranging from 0.52 to 1.7 ng HHCB/g wet weight (ww) and 0.39 to 2.5 ng AHTN/g ww. Until the mid 1990s AHTN dominated while HHCB concentrations were higher in the following years. Blue mussels from the Baltic Sea were less contaminated. 

Contamination of bream

HHCB and AHTN levels in bream from German rivers were up to 1000 times higher than in blue mussels. This is most probably due to the higher exposure of bream to WWTP effluents (less dilution). Generally, in bream, HHCB was higher than AHTN (by factors of 2 to 17). Highest contamination was observed in bream from the Saar, i.e. up to 2005 ng HHCB/g ww and 605 ng AHTN/g ww in the mid 1990s. Since then levels of polycyclic musk compounds have decreased at all sampling sites

 HHCB in muscle of bream from the Saar sampling site Güdingen
Fig. 1: HHCB in muscle of bream from the Saar sampling site Güdingen Zoom in

 

AHTN in muscle of bream from the Saar sampling site Güdingen
Fig. 2: AHTN in muscle of bream from the Saar sampling site Güdingen Zoom in

 

HHCB in muscle of bream from the Rhine sampling site Koblenz
Fig. 3: HHCB in muscle of bream from the Rhine sampling site Koblenz Zoom in
 
 
AHTN in muscle of bream from the Rhine sampling site Koblenz
Fig. 4: AHTN in muscle of bream from the Rhine sampling site Koblenz Zoom in

 

Relevance of the results

HHCB and AHTN contamination of bream and blue mussels declined during the study period. This is probably related to decreasing consumption volumes due to the use of substitutes.
But how does the presence of these compounds effect aquatic organisms? Converting fish body burdens to water concentrations reveals that the HHCB and AHTN levels in water were always below the respective effect concentrations for aquatic organisms (PNEC - predicted no effect concentration). Within this study, the highest estimated HHCB and AHTN concentrations in German rivers were 3.2 and 1.0 µg/L, respectively, whereas the respective PNECs for fresh water organisms are 4.4 µg HHCB/L and 2.8 µg AHTN/L. It is thus assumed that HHCB and AHTN posed no direct threat to the respective aquatic organisms during the investigated period.

Updated at: 2020-02-04

 

Recommended profiles

Specimen

Analytes

Sampling area

Extended information

Literature

Synthetische Moschusverbindungen: Abnehmende Konzentrationen künstlicher Duftstoffe in Fischen zeigen Verbrauchsänderungen an

Polyzyklische Moschusverbindungen sind synthetische Duftstoffen, die in Körperpflegemitteln, Wasch- und Reinigungsmitteln, Papier und Textilien eingesetzt werden. Über Abwässer und Klärschlämme gelangen sie in die Umwelt. Einige Moschusverbindungen sind bioakkumulierend, endokrin wirksam und toxisch für aquatische Organismen. In Brassen aus deutschen Fließgewässern und Miesmuscheln aus Nord- und Ostsee dominierten die polyzyklischen Moschusverbindungen HHCB (Handelsname: Galaxolid) und AHTN (Handelsname:Tonalid). Im Untersuchungszeitraum 1986-2003 waren Brassen deutlich stärker belastet als Miesmuscheln. Generell ist eine Abnahme der Belastung seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre zu beobachten.

Zu den wirtschaftlich wichtigsten polyzyklischen Moschusverbindungen gehören HHCB und AHTN. Beide Verbindungen werden nur zum Teil in Kläranlagen abgebaut, und können in Kläranlagenabläufen nachgewiesen werden. AHTN, nicht aber HHCB, wird durch UV-Strahlung weiter abgebaut. Da beide Stoffe lipophil sind, können sie sich in Organismen anreichern.
Um die Belastung aquatischer Organismen in deutschen Gewässern zu erfassen, wurden Brassen aus verschiedenen deutschen Fließgewässern und Miesmuscheln aus Nord- und Ostsee im Rahmen eines retrospektiven Monitorings auf AHTN und HHCB untersucht.

Belastung von Miesmuscheln

HHCB und AHTN wurden in allen Muschelproben aus der südlichen Nordsee (Eckwarderhörne) nachgewiesen. Die Konzentrationen lagen bei 0,52 - 1,7 ng HHCB/g Frischgewicht (FG) und 0,39 - 2,5 ng AHTN/g FG. Bis Mitte der 1990er Jahre dominierte AHTN, in den Folgejahren lagen die HHCB-Konzentrationen höher. Miesmuscheln aus der Ostsee wiesen generell niedrigere AHTN- und HHCB-Gehalte auf.

Belastung von Brassen aus deutschen Fließgewässern

Verglichen mit Miesmuscheln waren Brassen bis zu 1000 Mal stärker mit HHCB und AHTN belastet. Der Grund hierfür dürfte die höhere Exposition von Brassen durch Kläranlagenabläufe sein (geringere Verdünnung). Die Konzentrationen von HHCB waren dabei durchgehend höher als von AHTN (um Faktoren von 2 bis 17). Die höchsten Gehalte fanden sich Mitte der 1990er Jahre bei Brassen aus der Saar (bis 2005 ng HHCB/g FG und 605 ng AHTN/g FG). An allen Probenahmeflächen nahmen die Belastungen mit polyzyklischen Moschusverbindungen seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre ab.

HHCB in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus der Saar, Probenahmefläche Güdingen
Abb. 1: HHCB in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus der Saar, Probenahmefläche Güdingen Vergrößert anzeigen

 

AHTN in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus der Saar, Probenahmefläche Güdingen
Abb. 2: AHTN in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus der Saar, Probenahmefläche Güdingen Vergrößert anzeigen

 

HHCB in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus dem Rhein, Probenahmefläche Koblenz
Abb. 3: HHCB in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus dem Rhein, Probenahmefläche Koblenz Vergrößert anzeigen

 

AHTN in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus dem Rhein, Probenahmefläche Koblenz
Abb. 4: AHTN in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus dem Rhein, Probenahmefläche Koblenz Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Bedeutung der Ergebnisse

Die Belastung von Miesmuscheln und Brassen durch die polyzyklischen Moschusverbindungen HHCB und AHTN nahm bis 2003 ab. Dies ist wahrscheinlich auf rückläufige Verbrauchssmengen durch den Einsatz von Ersatzstoffen zurückzuführen.
Aber was bedeutet die Anwesenheit dieser Stoffe im Gewässer für aquatische Organismen? Die aus den Fischgewebekonzentrationen extrapolierten Wasserkonzentrationen lagen bis 2003 unterhalb der jeweiligen für aquatische Organismen kritischen Konzentrationen (PNEC - predicted no effect concentration). Für deutsche Fließgewässer wurden im Rahmen dieser Studie maximale Wasserkonzentrationen von 3,2 µg HHCB/L und 1,0 µg AHTN/L errechnet, während die PNEC für Süßwasserorganismen bei 4,4 µg HHCB/L und 2,8 µg AHTN/L liegt. Damit ist eine direkte Gefährdung der aquatischen Umwelt durch diese Verbindungen im Untersuchungszeitraum unwahrscheinlich.

Aktualisiert am: 02.04.2020

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

Analyte

Probenahmegebiete

Weiterführende Informationen

Literaturangaben