Perchlorate - background exposure of different environmental matrices

Investigations of precipitation water, soil, and tree samples

Perchlorate contamination of fruit and vegetables is a reoccurring problem. Thus, the German Environment Agency (UBA) started an investigation of different environmental matrices and precipitation water samples of the UBA monitoring network to measure perchlorate background exposure in 2013.

Findings

Precipitation water

In none of the 24 analyzed samples of the six monitoring stations of the UBA air-monitoring network a perchlorate concentration over the limit of quantification of 0.1 µg/L could be detected. The samples were gathered from September until November of 2013.

Samples from the Environmental Specimen Bank

To investigate the background exposure to perchlorate in soil and plants, UBA used samples from the Environmental Specimen Bank (ESB).

The specimen types soil, beech leaves and one-year-old shoots of common spruce originated from five different sampling areas of the ESB. The areas are distributed over the whole of Germany and are categorized in three different ecosystems: agrarian, forestry and nearly natural terrestrial ecosystems.

Not all sampling areas are used for yearly sampling; thus, the investigated samples differ in years of sampling. In November 2013 the up to that point latest samples of the ESB-archive were used.

Soil: organic layer and topsoil

Concerning the soil samples, the organic layer and topsoil, as far as available, were investigated. The samples originated from the year 2010 (at the ESB routinely sampling of soil is done every four years).

Perchlorate could not be detected in most of the analyzed samples. Only in the organic layer of the Upper Bavarian Tertiary Upland and the Bavarian Forest National Park perchlorate concentrations of approximately 0.001 µg/g ww could be shown (see figure 1).

It is important to note, that in Bornhöved no organic layer could be sampled because the area is used as cultivated area.

Perchlorate in beech leaves, spruce shoots, organic layer, and top soils from three different ecosystem types. Measurement values lower than the limit of quantification are flagged with “<”.
Fig. 1: Perchlorate in beech leaves, spruce shoots, organic layer, and top soils from three different ecosystem types. Measurement values lower than the limit of quantification are flagged with “<”. Zoom in

 

Beech leaves and one-year-old shoots of common spruce

The used samples originated from the following sampling years:

2011: beech leaves from Bornhöved Lake District, Solling, Palatinate Forest
2012: beech leaves from Bavarian Forest National Park, Upper Bavarian Tertiary Uplands
2012: one-year-old shoots of common spruce Upper Bavarian Tertiary Uplands
2013: one-year-old shoots of common spruce Bavarian Forest National Park, Bornhöved Lake District, Solling, Palatinate Forest

As plant representative beech leaves and one-year-old shoots of common spruce were chosen. All analyzed values were under the reference values for food published by the Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain (CONTAM) of the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) in 2015 of 0.02 – 1.0 µg/g (mg/kg).

Interestingly beech leaves show far higher concentrations of perchlorate than common spruce or soil samples. It can be deduced, that perchlorate seems to enter the plants during the vegetation period. Additionally the leave samples of the agrarian ecosystems are exposed higher than samples of the other three ecosystems.

The results indicate that perchlorate exposure of produce is not directly linked to background exposure.

Recommended profiles

Specimen

  • A major primary producer in semi-natural and anthropogenic affected ecosystems.
  • As the most dominant deciduous tree species in Central Europe, it plays a significant role in most nearly natural and also anthropogenically influenced forest ecosystems up to an altitude of 1100 m.
  • Soil is livelihood and biosphere for humans, animals, plants and soil organisms. All the substances brought in are transported, transformed and/or accumulated in the soil.

Analytes

Sampling area

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Literature

Perchlorat - Hintergrundbelastung verschiedener Umweltmedien

Untersuchungen von Niederschlagswasser-, Boden- und Baumproben

Immer wieder wird auf und in diversen Lebensmitteln wie Obst und Gemüse Perchlorat nachgewiesen. In 2013 ließ das Umweltbundesamt (UBA) deshalb verschiedene Probenmatrices sowie Niederschlagswasser des UBA-Messnetzes auf die Hintergrundbelastung mit Perchlorat untersuchen.

Ergebnisse

Niederschlagswasser

In keiner der 24 untersuchten Proben der sechs Messstationen des UBA-Luftmessnetzes konnte Perchlorat nachgewiesen werden. Die Proben wurden im Zeitraum Anfang September bis Mitte November 2013 gewonnen. Die Bestimmungsgrenze betrug 0,1 µg/L.

Proben der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes

Zur Bestimmung der Hintergrundbelastung mit Perchlorat im Boden und in Pflanzen nutzte das UBA Proben aus dem Archiv der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes (UPB).

Die Probenarten Boden, Buchenblätter und einjährige Fichtentriebe stammen aus fünf verschiedenen Probenahmegebieten der UPB. Diese Gebiete sind über ganz Deutschland verteilt und drei verschiedenen Ökosystemen zuordenbar: Agrar-, Forst- sowie Naturnahes terrestrisches Ökosystem.
Da die UPB nicht in allen Gebieten jährlich Proben entnimmt, variieren teilweise die Probenahmejahre; es wurden im November 2013 immer die jüngsten der im UPB-Archiv verfügbaren Proben untersucht.

Boden: Humusauflage und Oberboden

Soweit vorhanden, wurden beim Boden jeweils die Auflage sowie der Oberbodenhorizont untersucht. Dabei handelt es sich um Proben aus dem Jahr 2010; die routinemäßige Bodenbeprobung findet für die UPB nur alle vier Jahre statt.
Perchlorat war in keiner der untersuchten Oberbodenproben nachweisbar; in den Humusauflagen fanden sich Perchlorat-Konzentrationen in Höhe von ca. 0,001 µg/g FG nur in den Proben vom Oberbayerischen Tertiärhügelland sowie vom Nationalpark (NP) Bayerischer Wald (siehe Abb. 1).
Es ist anzumerken, dass in Bornhöved keine Auflagehorizonte beprobt werden können, da es sich um bewirtschaftetes Ackerland handelt.

Perchlorat in Buchenblättern, Fichtentrieben, Humusauflagen und Oberböden aus drei unterschiedlichen Ökosystemen. Messwerte unterhalb der Bestimmungsgrenze sind mit „<“ gekennzeichnet.
Abb. 1: Perchlorat in Buchenblättern, Fichtentrieben, Humusauflagen und Oberböden aus drei unterschiedlichen Ökosystemen. Messwerte unterhalb der Bestimmungsgrenze sind mit „<“ gekennzeichnet. Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Buchenblätter und einjährige Fichtentriebe

Die untersuchten Proben setzen sich aus folgenden Probenahmejahren zusammen:

2011: Buchenblätter Bornhöveder Seengebiet, Solling, BR Pfälzerwald
2012: Buchenblätter NP Bayerischer Wald, Oberbayerisches Tertiärhügelland
2012: Fichtentriebe Oberbayerisches Tertiärhügelland
2013: Fichtentriebe Bornhöveder Seengebiet, NP Bayerischer Wald, Solling, BR Pfälzerwald

Als Vertreter von Pflanzen wurden Buchenblätter sowie einjährige Fichtentriebe ausgewählt. Die gefundenen Werte liegen unter den vom Ständigen Ausschuss für Kontaminanten in der Lebensmittelkette der Europäischen Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) genannten Referenzwerten für Lebensmittel von 0,02 bis 1,0 µg/g (entspricht 0,02 bis 1,0 mg/kg).

Auffällig sind die gegenüber den Fichten- und Bodenproben erheblich höheren Gehalte der Buchenblätter. Daraus lässt sich schlussfolgern, dass Perchlorat während der Vegetationsperiode eingetragen wird. Darüber hinaus sind die Blattproben der beiden Agrar-Ökosysteme deutlich höher belastet, als die Proben der restlichen drei Gebiete.

Die Ergebnisse deuten an, dass die Perchloratbelastung von Agrarprodukten nicht der allgemeinen Umweltbelastung zuzurechnen ist.

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

  • Bedeutender Primärproduzent in vielen naturnahen und anthropogen beeinflussten Ökosystemen.
  • Dominierender Laubbaum in Mitteleuropa mit Vorkommen auf fast allen Böden sowie bis in über 1100 m Höhe.
  • Der Boden ist Lebensgrundlage und Lebensraum für Menschen, Tiere, Pflanzen und Bodenlebewesen. In ihm laufen Umbau- und Abbauprozesse von Stoffen ab und er kann diese filtern, anreichern, aber auch wieder frei setzen.

Analyte

Probenahmegebiete

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen

Literaturangaben