Polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins (PCDD) and dibenzofurans (PCDF)

PCDD/F

Polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and dibenzofuranes (PCDDs/PCDFs, also PCDD/Fs) are persistent organic pollutants (POPs) which are in short named "dioxins" or "dioxin" in the strict sense of this term.

Dioxins are persistent organic pollutants (POPs) that are highly toxic and persist in the environment and accumulate in the food chain. This group of environmental contaminants includes:

  • Polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins (PCDDs): in total 75 congeners, differing in the number and location of chlorine atoms, seven of them are of toxicological relevance (2,3,7,8-substituted congeners), the most toxic one being 2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzodioxin (2,3,7,8-TCDD).
  • Polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDFs): in total 135 congeners, ten of them are of toxicological relevance (2,3,7,8-substituted congeners).

Dioxins and furans (PCDD/Fs) have no technological or other use, but are generated in a number of thermal and industrial processes as unwanted and often unavoidable by-products.

Substances

  • WHO(2005)-PCDD/F-TEQ excl. LOQ
    Sum of dioxins (PCDD/Fs) expressed as WHO toxic equivalent (TEQ) using the WHO-TEFs(2005), calculation by using lowerbound concentrations: lowerbound concentrations are calculated on the assumption that all the values of the different congeners below the limit of quantification (LOQ) are zero.
  • WHO(2005)-PCDD/F-TEQ incl. LOQ
    Sum of dioxins (PCDD/Fs), expressed as WHO toxic equivalent using the WHO-TEFs(2005), calculation by using upperbound concentrations: upperbound concentrations are calculated on the assumption that all the values of the different congeners below the limit of quantification (LOQ) are equal to the limit of quantification.

Specimen

  • Bioindicator in rivers and lakes
  • As the only viviparous fish in German nearshore waters, it is a bioindicator in nearshore coastal marine ecosystems.
  • Inshore, the herring gull mainly feeds from the sea: upon fish, mussels, and crabs.

Sampling area

Sampling period

2003 - 2019

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Polychlorierte Dibenzodioxine (PCDD) und Dibenzofurane (PCDF)

PCDD/F

Polychlorierte Dibenzo-p-dioxine und Dibenzofurane (PCDD/PCDF, auch PCDD/F) gehören zu den persistenten organischen Schadstoffen (POP), die in der Kurzform als "Dioxine" oder "Dioxin" im engeren Sinn bezeichnet werden.

Dioxine sind persistente organische Verbindungen, die sehr giftig und persistent in der Umwelt sind sowie sich in Nahrungsketten anreichern. Diese Gruppe von Umweltkontaminanten umfasst:

  • Polychlorierte Dibenzo-p-dioxine (PCDD): in der Summe 75 Kongenere, die sich in der Anzahl und Position von Chloratomen unterscheiden, sieben davon sind toxikologisch relevant (2,3,7,8-substituierte Kongenere), die toxischste Verbindung ist 2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzodioxin (2,3,7,8-TCDD).
  • Polychlorierte Dibenzofurane (PCDF): in der Summe 135 Kongenere, zehn davon sind toxikologisch relevant (2,3,7,8-substituierte Kongenere).

Dioxine und Furane (PCDD/F) haben keine technologische oder andere Verwendung, sondern werden in einer Reihe von thermischen und industriellen Prozessen als unerwünschte und oft unvermeidbare Nebenprodukte erzeugt.

Untersuchte Substanzen

  • WHO(2005)-PCDD/F-TEQ exkl. BG
    Summe der Dioxine (PCDD/F), ausgedrückt in Toxizitätsäquivalenten (TEQ) der WHO unter Verwendung der WHO-TEF(2005). Die Berechnung erfolgt nach dem Verfahren der Konzentrationsuntergrenzen: Konzentrationsuntergrenzen werden unter der Annahme berechnet, dass sämtliche Werte der einzelnen Kongenere, die unter der Bestimmungsgrenze liegen, gleich Null sind.
  • WHO(2005)-PCDD/F-TEQ inkl. BG
    Summe der Dioxine (PCDD/F), ausgedrückt in Toxizitätsäquivalenten (TEQ) der WHO unter Verwendung der WHO-TEF(2005). Die Berechnung erfolgt nach dem Verfahren der Konzentrationsobergrenzen:  Konzentrationsobergrenzen werden unter der Annahme berechnet, dass sämtliche Werte der einzelnen Kongenere, die unter der Bestimmungsgrenze liegen, gleich der Bestimmungsgrenze sind.

Probenarten

Probenahmegebiete

Untersuchungszeitraum

2003 - 2019

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen