Organotin compounds in aquatic ecosystems

Organotin compounds are used as biocides, plastics additives and catalysers. Aquatic ecosystems are affected mainly by tributyltin (TBT) and triphenyltin (TPT) compounds in antifouling paints. Both compounds are highly toxic and endocrine disruptive. After the partial ban of TBT in antifoulants in 1989 and and the total EU ban of organotin compounds for this application in 2003, TBT and TPT contamination of bream in German rivers and of blue mussel and eelpout from the North and Baltic Sea declined. Levels of the respective degradation products (i.e. the di- and mono-substituted compounds) were mostly low, although these compounds are partly used in industry for other purposes, e.g. as catalysts.

Because of its high toxicity and endocrine disrupting effects on mussels and snails, the use of TBT in antifoulants for ships with a length below 25 m was banned in Germany and the EU in 1989 and 1990, respectively. Since 2003, the general use of organotin compounds in antifouling paints is banned in the EU. TPT applications for this purpose were ceased in the mid 1980s.
To assess the contamination of aquatic organisms and evaluate the effects of the regulatory measures a retrospective monitoring was performed on bream from five German rivers, and on mussel and eelpout from the North Sea and Baltic Sea.


Contamination of bream from German rivers

During the study period (1993-2003) highest contaminations were observed in bream muscles from the lower Elbe (sampling site Blankenese) with TBT ranging from 185 to 481 ng/g wet weight (ww) and TPT levels between 8 and 253 ng/g ww. This is probably related to the location of the sampling site near the Hamburg Harbour with its dock activities.
Following the ban in 1989, TBT levels decreased by 50 to 90% in bream from all sampling sites in Germany. Decreasing trends were also observed for TPT although this could only partly be related to its use in antifoulants, i.e. at Blankenese. For other sampling sites TPT levels in bream seem to correlate with its use as fungicide.

TBT levels in bream muscle from river Elbe between 1993 und 2003
Fig. 1: TBT levels in bream muscle from river Elbe between 1993 und 2003 Zoom in

 

TPT levels in bream muscle from German rivers between 1993 und 2003
Fig. 2: TPT levels in bream muscle from German rivers between 1993 und 2003 Zoom in

 

Contamination of mussels and eelpout

TBT levels in mussels and eelpout from the North- and Baltic Sea remained more or less constant until end of the 1990s. Effects of the 1989/1990 ban of TBT in antifoulants for ships with a length below 25 meters were not apparent, probably because shipping traffic in the North and Baltic Sea is dominated by larger ships. After the total organotin ban in 2003, however, TBT levels decreased significantly in both, mussels and eelpout.

TBT levels in blue mussels from the North Sea and Baltic Sea between 1986 and 2005
Fig. 3: TBT levels in blue mussels from the North Sea and Baltic Sea between 1986 and 2005 Zoom in

 

TPT levels in blue mussels from the North Sea and Baltic Sea between 1986 and 2005
Fig. 4: TPT levels in blue mussels from the North Sea and Baltic Sea between 1986 and 2005 Zoom in

 

TBT levels in eelpout muscle from the North Sea and Baltic Sea between 1986 and 2005
Fig. 5: TBT levels in eelpout muscle from the North Sea and Baltic Sea between 1986 and 2005 Zoom in

 

Relevance of the results

The study underlines the effects of the regulatory measures in reducing organotin compounds in aquatic environments. However, converting tissue levels to water concentrations reveals that the environmental quality standard (EQS) for organotin compounds as defined by the Water Framework Directive (0.2 ng/L) is still not met. Thus further monitoring is necessary.

Updated at: 2020-04-02

Recommended profiles

Specimen

  • Bioindicator in rivers and lakes
  • One of the most important edible mussel species common in the North and Baltic Sea
  • As the only viviparous fish in German nearshore waters, it is a bioindicator in nearshore coastal marine ecosystems.

Analytes

Sampling area

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Literature

Organozinnverbindungen in aquatischen Ökosystemen

Organozinnverbindungen werden als Biozide, Kunststoffadditive und Katalysatoren eingesetzt. Vor allem Tributylzinn- (TBT) und Triphenylzinnverbindungen (TPT) haben als Bestandteil von Antifouling-Anstrichen von Schiffen zu Problemen in Gewässerökosystemen geführt. Beide Stoffe sind hoch toxisch und endokrin wirksam. Nach dem teilweisen Verbot von TBT in Schiffanstrichen 1989 und dem EU-Verbot aller Organozinnverbindungen für diese Anwendung im Jahr 2003 sanken die Belastungen von Brassen aus deutschen Fließgewässern und von Miesmuscheln und Aalmuttern aus Nord- und Ostsee. Abbauprodukte von TBT und TPT (die entsprechenden di- und mono-substituierten Verbindungen) wurden meist nur in geringen Konzentrationen nachgewiesen, obwohl sie teilweise auch für andere Zwecke industriell genutzt werden, beispielsweise als Katalysatoren.

Wegen seiner hohen Toxizität und endokrinen Wirksamkeit auf Muscheln und Schnecken wurde TBT 1989 in Deutschland und 1990 EU-weit in Antifoulinganstrichen von Schiffen unter einer Länge von 25 m verboten. Seit 2003 wurde das Verbot auf Organozinnverbindungen in Antifouling-Anstrichen für alle Schiffstypen ausgedehnt. TPT wurde schon seit etwa Mitte der 1980er-Jahre nicht mehr für diesen Zweck eingesetzt.
Um die Wirkung der Stoffverbote zu überprüfen und die Belastung von wasserlebenden Organismen zu erfassen, wurden Brassen aus fünf deutschen Fließgewässern und Miesmuscheln und Aalmuttern aus der Nordsee und Ostsee im Rahmen eines retrospektiven Monitorings untersucht.

Belastung von Brassen aus deutschen Fließgewässern

Zwischen 1993 und 2003 weisen Muskulaturen von Brassen aus der Unterelbe (Blankenese) mit 185 bis 481 ng TBT/g Frischgewicht (FG) und 8 bis 253 ng TPT/g FG die höchsten Belastungen auf. Dies dürfte darauf zurückzuführen sein, dass die Probenahmefläche Blankenese stark durch den Hamburger Hafen und die mit den Docks verbundenen Arbeiten beeinflusst ist.
Als Folge des Verbots nahm die TBT-Belastung von Brassen zwischen 1993 und 2003 an allen Probenahmeflächen in Deutschland um 50 bis 90% ab. Auch die TPT-Konzentrationen in Brassen sanken, wobei die Konzentrationen jedoch nur zum Teil mit der Verwendung in Schiffsanstrichen korrelieren (Blankenese). An anderen Standorten scheinen die TPT-Gehalte eher mit dessen Anwendung in Fungiziden zusammenzuhängen.

TBT-Gehalte in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus der Elbe zwischen 1993 und 2003
Abb. 1: TBT-Gehalte in der Muskulatur von Brassen aus der Elbe zwischen 1993 und 2003 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

TPT-Gehalte in der Muskulatur von Brassen zwischen 1993 und 2003
Abb. 2: TPT-Gehalte in der Muskulatur von Brassen zwischen 1993 und 2003 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Belastung von Miesmuscheln und Aalmutter

Die TBT-Belastung von Miesmuscheln und Aalmutter aus Nord- und Ostsee blieb bis Ende der 1990er Jahre unverändert. Da in Meeresregionen der Verkehr großer Schiffe dominiert, zeigte das seit 1989/1990 geltende Verbot von TBT in Antifouling-Anstrichen von Schiffen unter einer Länge von 25 Metern hier offenbar keine Wirkung. Erst nachdem 2003 das generelle Verbot von Organozinnverbindungen in Kraft trat, nahmen die TBT-Gehalte in Miesmuscheln und Aalmuttern deutlich ab.

TBT-Gehalte in Miesmuscheln von der Nordsee- und Ostseeküste zwischen 1986 und 2005
Abb. 3: TBT-Gehalte in Miesmuscheln von der Nordsee- und Ostseeküste zwischen 1986 und 2005 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

TPT-Gehalte in Miesmuscheln von der Nordsee- und Ostseeküste zwischen 1986 und 2005
Abb. 4: TPT-Gehalte in Miesmuscheln von der Nordsee- und Ostseeküste zwischen 1986 und 2005 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

TBT-Gehalte in der Muskulatur von Aalmuttern aus der Nordsee- und Ostseeküste zwischen 1986 und 2005
Abb. 5: TBT-Gehalte in der Muskulatur von Aalmuttern aus der Nordsee- und Ostseeküste zwischen 1986 und 2005 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Bedeutung der Ergebnisse

Die Untersuchungen belegen den Erfolg der regulatorischen Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung der Organozinn-Einträge in die aquatische Umwelt. Eine Umrechnung der Gewebekonzentrationen auf Wasserkonzentrationen zeigt jedoch, dass Organozinnverbindungen nach wie vor die im Rahmen der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie abgeleitete Umweltqualitätsnorm von 0,2 ng/L überschreiten und somit eine weitere Überwachung notwendig ist.

Aktualisiert am: 02.04.2020

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

Analyte

Probenahmegebiete

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen

Literaturangaben