pH-value

pH

pH-value as measure for the alkalinity or acidity of a medium

The pH-value describes the activity of hydrogen ions in an aqueous medium. It is defined as the negative logarithm (base 10) of the molar concentration of hydronium ions (H3O+) in a solution. pH-values lower than 7 are associated with high hydronium ion concentrations and acid reactions. In alkaline solutions pH-values are greater than 7 and the hydronium ion concentrations accordingly low.

The pH of a medium is the result of complex processes. In soil the ph-value is mainly influenced by vegetation, soil organisms, organic substance, clay content and atmospheric deposition. In suspended particulate matter the respective influential factors are mainly organic substance, clay content, microorganisms and the ambient water.

In biology, medicine and environmental sciences the pH-value is an important parameter because many chemical processes are pH-dependent, for instance metabolic reactions, nutrient cycles, and binding and release of metal ions and carbon.
By influencing the mobility of nutrients and heavy metals the pH-value is of special importance for plant growth. A slightly acid soil is optimal for many plants because the solubility of most nutrients is best within the pH-range of 6.3 - 6.8. Very low pH-levels are critical because aluminium can be released in toxic concentrations. At high pH-levels, however, there is a risk of manganese deficiency in soils.

The pH in soil is determined electrometrically in a soil/water suspension and in a soil/electrolyte suspension (calcium chloride and potassium chloride). The pH in suspended particulate matter is measured in a calcium chloride suspension.

Substances

  • pH-value (water)
    The pH in a water suspension is a measure for the actual acidity of the sample. It is related to the concentration of free hydrogen ions (H+) in the suspension.
  • pH-value (calcium chloride)
    The pH-value in a suspension of sample material and a diluted calcium chloride solution corresponds to the potential acidity.
  • pH-value (potassium chloride)
    The pH-value in a suspension of sample material and a diluted potassium solution corresponds to the potential acidity.

Specimen

  • Fine insoluble mineral or organic particles in the water phase
  • Soil is livelihood and biosphere for humans, animals, plants and soil organisms. All the substances brought in are transported, transformed and/or accumulated in the soil.

Sampling area

Sampling period

2002 - 2018

pH-Wert

pH

Der pH-Wert ist ein Maß für den Base- und Säuregehalt eines Mediums

Der pH-Wert oder Säuregrad beschreibt die Aktivität der Wasserstoffionen in einem wässrigen Medium. Er ist definiert als der negative dekadische Logarithmus der molaren Konzentration von gelösten Hydrogen-Ionen (H3O+). Bei pH-Werten unter 7 ist die Konzentration von Hydrogen-Ionen hoch und die Lösung reagiert sauer. In basischen Lösungen ist dagegen die H3O+-Konzentration niedrig und der pH größer als 7.

Der pH-Wert in einem Medium ist das Ergebnis komplexer Vorgänge. Im Boden wird der pH-Wert durch die Vegetation, die Bodenorganismen, den Gehalt an Ton und organischer Substanz und durch den atmosphärischen Säureeintrag beeinflusst. Der pH-Wert in Schwebstoffen wird durch den Gehalt an organischer Substanz, Mikroorganismen und Ton und vom pH-Wert des umgebenden Wassers beeinflusst.

In der Biologie, der Medizin und den Umweltwissenschaften ist der pH-Wert eine wichtige Messgröße, da viele Prozesse, wie Stoffwechselreaktionen, Nährstoffkreisläufe und Bindung und Freisetzung von Metall-Ionen und Kohlenstoff pH-abhängig sind.

Durch seinen Einfluss auf die Mobilität von Nährstoffen und Schwermetallen ist er für das Pflanzenwachstum entscheidend. Für viele Pflanzen liegt der optimale Boden pH-Wert im leicht sauren Bereich, da die Löslichkeit der meisten Nährstoffe bei pH-Werten von 6,3-6,8 am höchsten ist. Sehr niedrige pH-Werte sind kritisch, da es zu einer Freisetzung von Aluminium im toxischen Konzentrationsbereich kommen kann. In sehr basischen Böden kann es dagegen zu Manganmangel kommen.

Der pH-Wert im Boden wird elektrometrisch sowohl in einer Boden/Wasser-Suspension als auch in einer Boden/Elektrolyt-Suspension (Calciumchlorid- und Kaliumchlorid-Lösung) gemessen. Die pH-Wert Bestimmung in Schwebstoffen erfolgt in einer Schwebstoff/Elektrolyt (Calciumchlorid) Suspension.

Untersuchte Substanzen

  • pH-Wert (Wasser)
    Der pH-Wert in einer wässrigen Suspension des Probenmaterials zeigt die aktuelle Acidität (Säuregrad) an. Er entspricht der Konzentration der freien Wasserstoff-Ionen (H+) in der Probenlösung.
  • pH-Wert (Calciumchlorid)
    Der pH-Wert in einer Suspension aus Probenmaterial und einer verdünnten Calciumchlorid-Lösung ist ein Maß für die potentielle Acidität (Säuregrad).
  • pH-Wert (Kaliumchlorid)
    Der pH-Wert in einer Suspension aus Probenmaterial und einer verdünnten Kaliumchlorid-Lösung ist ein Maß für die potentielle Acidität (Säuregrad).

Probenarten

  • Feine mineralische oder organische Partikel in der Wasserphase, die nicht in Lösung gehen
  • Der Boden ist Lebensgrundlage und Lebensraum für Menschen, Tiere, Pflanzen und Bodenlebewesen. In ihm laufen Umbau- und Abbauprozesse von Stoffen ab und er kann diese filtern, anreichern, aber auch wieder frei setzen.

Probenahmegebiete

Untersuchungszeitraum

2002 - 2018