Cumlosen (km 470)

The river Elbe at Cumlosen
Photo: UPB-Projektgruppe Trier

Northernmost sampling site in the Middle Elbe

The sampling site Cumlosen extends between river kilometres 470 and 474. It lies in the nature preserve Elbe-Aland Niederung (lowland) and in the homonymous bird sanctuary. The width of the river varies between 170 and 300 metres.

This section of the river still belongs to the Middle Elbe. The river banks are near-natural with extensive riparian forests on the left side and dams on the right. The inner sides of the dike are used as grazing land.

The area of the sampling site includes an approx. one hectare harbour basin, which is used as marina. At river kilometre 474 a car ferry is operating. Adjacent to the sampling site is an area of the Federal Agency of Technical Relief which was formerly used as border observation post.

A permanent monitoring site of the International Commission for the Protection of the Elbe (ICPE) is installed within the sampling site.  
Bream are caught in the main stream whereas zebra mussels are sampled within the marina.

Specimen

Analytes

Sampling period

1993 - 2019

Cumlosen (km 470)

Die Elbe bei Cumlosen
Foto: UPB-Projektgruppe Trier

Nördlichste Probenahmefläche in der Mittelelbe

Die Probenahmefläche Cumlosen im Gebietsausschnitt Schnackenburg erstreckt sich zwischen Stromkilometer 470 und 474. Sie liegt im Landschaftsschutzgebiet Elbe-Aland-Niederung und im gleichnamigen Internationalen Vogelschutzgebiet. Die Breite der Elbe schwankt in diesem Abschnitt zwischen 170 und 300 m.

Die Elbe gehört in diesem Abschnitt zur Mittelelbe. Die Uferbeschaffenheit ist naturnah. Auf der linken Elbuferseite befindet sich ein ausgedehnter Auenwald, auf der rechten Seite eine Dammanlage. Die Nutzung der Deichinnenflächen erfolgt über Weidewirtschaft.

Im Bereich der Probenahmefläche liegt ein etwa ein Hektar großes Hafenbecken, das als Sportboothafen genutzt wird. Bei Stromkilometer 474 ist eine Autofähre in Betrieb. Angrenzend an die Probenahmefläche befindet sich ein Gelände des Technischen Hilfswerkes, das früher als Grenzbeobachtungspunkt genutzt wurde.

Innerhalb der Probenahmefläche liegt eine Dauermessstelle der Internationalen Kommission zum Schutz der Elbe (IKSE).

Die Brassen werden in der freien Elbe gefangen. Die Dreikantmuschel-Plattenstapel hängen im Sportboothafen.

Probenarten

Analyte

Untersuchungszeitraum

1993 - 2019