Cyclic methylsiloxanes in fish

Fish are particularly heavily contaminated with cyclic methylsiloxanes where industrial companies produce and process the substances.

Cyclic volatile methylsiloxanes (cVMS) are industrially produced industrial chemicals that are used in large quantities, for example as intermediates in the production of silicone plastics or as ingredients in personal care products.

In 2018, the EU REACH authority classified octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane (D4), decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) and dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxane (D6) as substances of very high concern. With fish samples from the German environmental specimen bank, researchers from the Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology have elaborated an overview of the current and historical contamination of water bodies. To do this, they used a coupled GC-ICP-MS/MS method and started by spatially comparing the pollution of fish from the Rhine, Saar, Danube, Elbe and tributaries, Lake Belau (Belauer See) in northern Germany and the North Sea and Baltic Sea coasts.

In fish from all sampling sites and over the entire study period, the decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) concentrations were significantly higher than the measured D4 and D6 concentrations. The Saar samples (near the German-French border) were the ones most contaminated with cVMS. Elsewhere, cVMS occurred in high concentrations especially at those sampling sites where industrial plants producing or processing cyclic methylsiloxanes are known in the river basin. This applies to the sampling sites in the Elbe near Dresden, Wettin in the Saale and Jochenstein in the Danube.

A map shows the sampling sites and concentrations of decamethylpentasiloxane (D5) in bream fillets from the environmental specimen bank in 2017.
Fig. 1: Decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) in bream musculature in 2017 Zoom in

 

The cVMS concentrations in fish from Lake Belau as well as North Sea and Baltic Sea fish were below the detection limits of the analytical method. This also provided evidence that there is no contamination of the samples in the course of routine sampling and processing.

At some selected sites, the temporal trends in fish contamination with cVMS were the subject of investigation. The highest D4 and D5 concentrations were detected in fish fillets from a Saar site in 2009 (approx. 320 and 7,400 ng/g fresh weight). It is striking that in most of the time series analysed, cVMS concentrations peaked between 2007 and 2011. Thereafter, cVMS concentrations in fish decreased considerably. The observed decrease in use is possibly related to the fact that the environmental safety of cyclic methylsiloxanes has also been discussed in European chemical safety bodies since 2009 (for example, in the EU PBT Expert Group) and manufacturers therefore increasingly reduced the use of cVMS.

Evaluation

To enable an assessment of the relevance of the detected cVMS fish tissue concentrations, they were compared with environmental quality standards (EQS) for D4 and D5 derived by Swedish authorities in 2019 for the European Water Framework Directive (WFD). The EQS for D5, which however does not apply in Germany, was exceeded at several sites in several years in the period 2003 - 2011 - for fish from one Saar site until 2017, the last year of the time series.
The time courses of the measured concentrations of D4, D5 and D6 are shown in Figures 2 to 4.

 

Line diagram of the concentration of octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane (D4) in bream musculature
Fig. 2: Concentration of octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane (D4) in bream musculature in the years 1995 to 2017 Zoom in

 

Line diagram of the concentration of decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) in bream musculature
Fig. 3: Concentration of decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) in bream musculature in the years 1995 to 2017 Zoom in

 

Line diagram of the concentration of dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxane (D6) in bream musculature
Fig. 4: Concentration of dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxane (D6) in bream musculature in the years 1995 to 2017 Zoom in

 

Updated at: 2021-03-02

Recommended profiles

Specimen

Analytes

  • Cyclic methylsiloxanes with persistent, bioaccumulative and toxic properties in the environment

Sampling area

Extended information

Literature

Cyclische Methylsiloxane in Fischproben

Fische sind insbesondere dort stark mit cyclischen Methylsiloxanen belastet, wo Industriebetriebe die Stoffe produzieren und verarbeiten.

Cyclische flüchtige Methylsiloxane sind in großen Mengen industriell hergestellte Chemikalien, die beispielsweise als Zwischenprodukte bei der Herstellung von Silikonkunststoffen oder als Inhaltsstoffe in Körperpflegeprodukten eingesetzt werden.

2018 hat die EU REACH Behörde Octamethylcyclotetrasiloxan (D4), Decamethylcyclopentasiloxan (D5) und Dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxan (D6) als besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe eingestuft. Mit Fischproben der Umweltprobenbank haben Forschende des Fraunhofer Instituts für Molekularbiologie und angewandte Oekologie einen Überblick zur aktuellen und historischen Belastung der Gewässer erarbeitet. Dafür haben sie eine gekoppelte GC-ICP-MS/MS-Methode verwendet und zunächst einen räumlichen Vergleich der Belastung der Fische aus Rhein, Saar, Donau, Elbe und Nebenflüssen, dem Belauer See in Norddeutschland sowie der Nord- und Ostseeküste durchgeführt.

In Fischen aller Probenahmestellen und über den gesamten Untersuchungszeitraum waren die Konzentrationen des Decamethylcyclopentasiloxan (D5) deutlich höher als die gemessenen D4- und D6-Konzentrationen. Die Proben aus der Saar (nahe der deutsch-französischen Grenze) waren am höchsten mit cVMS belastet. Anderswo traten cVMS insbesondere an solchen Probenahmestellen in hohen Konzentrationen auf, wo Industriebetriebe, die cyclische Methylsiloxane produzieren oder verarbeiten, im Flusseinzugsgebiet bekannt sind. Dies gilt für die Probenahmestellen in der Elbe nahe Dresden, Wettin in der Saale und Jochenstein in der Donau.

 

In einer Karte werden die Probenahmeflächen und Konzentrationen von Decamethylpentasiloxan (D5) in Brassenfilets der Umweltprobenbank in 2017 dargestellt.
Abb. 1 Decamethylpentasiloxan (D5) in Brassenfilets der Umweltprobenbank von 2017 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Die cVMS-Konzentrationen in Fischen aus dem Belauer See sowie der Nord- und Ostseefische lagen unter den Bestimmungsgrenzen der Nachweismethode. Damit wurde zugleich der Beweis erbracht, dass es nicht zu einer Verunreinigung der Proben im Zuge der routinemäßigen Probenahme und Aufbereitung kommt.

An ausgewählten Standorten wurden auch die zeitlichen Trends der Belastung der Fische mit den cVMS untersucht. Die höchsten D4- und D5-Konzentrationen wurden 2009 in den Fischfilets eines Saarstandortes nachgewiesen: ca. 320 ng/g Frischgewicht für D4 und 7.400 ng/g Frischgewicht für D5. Es ist auffällig, dass in den meisten analysierten Zeitreihen die cVMS-Konzentrationen zwischen 2007 und 2011 ihren Spitzenwert erreichten. Danach sanken die cVMS-Konzentrationen in Fischen deutlich. Der beobachtete Rückgang der Nutzung hängt vermutlich damit zusammen, dass die Umweltsicherheit der cyclischen Methylsiloxane seit 2009 auch in den europäischen Gremien zur Chemikaliensicherheit diskutiert wird (beispielsweise in der EU PBT Expert Group) und die Hersteller deshalb die Verwendung der cVMS zunehmend verringerten.

Bewertung

Um eine Bewertung der Relevanz der nachgewiesenen cVMS-Fischgewebekonzentrationen zu ermöglichen, wurden sie mit Umweltqualitätsnormen (UQN) für D4 und D5 verglichen, die schwedische Behörden 2019 für die Europäische Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL) in Kraft gesetzt haben. Die UQN für D5, die allerdings in Deutschland nicht gilt, wurde im Zeitraum 2003 - 2011 an mehreren Standorten in mehreren Jahren überschritten - bei Fischen eines Saarstandortes bis 2017, dem letzten Jahr der Zeitreihe.
Die zeitlichen Verläufe der gemessenen Konzentrationen von D4, D5 und D6 sind in den Abbildungen 2 bis 4 dargestellt.

 

Liniendiagramm der Konzentrationen von Octamethylcyclotetrasiloxan (D4) in Muskulaturen von Brassen
Abb. 2: Konzentrationen von Octamethylcyclotetrasiloxan (D4) in Muskulaturen von Brassen in den Jahren 1995 bis 2017 Vergrößert anzeigen
  

 

Liniendiagramm der Konzentrationen von Decamethylcyclopentasiloxan (D5) in Muskulaturen von Brassen in den Jahren 1995 bis 2017
Abb. 3: Konzentrationen von Decamethylcyclopentasiloxan (D5) in Muskulaturen von Brassen in den Jahren 1995 bis 2017 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

 

Liniendiagramm der Konzentrationen von Dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxan (D6) in Muskulaturen von Brassen in den Jahren 1995 bis 2017
Abb. 4: Konzentrationen von Dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxan (D6) in Muskulaturen von Brassen in den Jahren 1995 bis 2017 Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Akualisiert am: 02.03.2021

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

Analyte

  • Cyclische Methylsiloxane mit persistenten, bioakkumulierenden und toxischen Eigenschaften in der Umwelt

Probenahmegebiete

Weiterführende Informationen

Literaturangaben