Transekt Halle-Leipzig

Halle/Leipzig conurbation within the chemical triangle

The sub-area Transekt Halle-Leipzig is located in the middle of the sampling area and is a representative section of the Halle/Leipzig conurbation.

The sub-area comprises the largest industrial area in central Germany and the most densely populated in East Germany. Settlement and industrial areas, active and former open pits, and tailings cover large parts of the area. The pollution situation is characterized by high emissions which are related to the enormous densities of chemical industry and population.

The main receiving streams of the sub-area are the rivers Saale and Weisse Elster. In the former GDR they were heavily polluted by waste waters from the pulp and paper industry and the chemical industry, and by discharges of insufficiently treated municipal wastewaters from the area of Halle/Merseburg.

Even today the levels of AOX (absorbable organic halogen compounds) and DOC (dissolved organic carbon) are unusually high in the upper reaches of the Saale (location of pulp and paper industry). Furthermore, the salt load and the level of nitrate are very high.

Sampling site

Specimen

Analytes

Sampling period

1991 - 2019

Transekt Halle-Leipzig

Ballungsraum Halle/Leipzig innerhalb des Chemiedreiecks

Der Gebietsausschnitt Transekt Halle-Leipzig liegt im zentralen Bereich des Probenahmegebietes und ist ein repräsentativer Ausschnitt des Ballungsraums Halle/Leipzig.

Der Gebietsausschnitt umfasst das größte Industriegebiet Mitteldeutschlands und ist das dicht besiedeltste in Ostdeutschland.
Ein großer Teil des Gebietsausschnitts wird von Siedlungs- und Industrieflächen sowie von aktiven als auch ehemaligen Tagebaugruben und Abraumhalden in Anspruch genommen. Die Belastungssituation ist gekennzeichnet durch die enorme Konzentration der chemischen Industrie und der Bevölkerung mit den damit verbundenen hohen Emissionen.

Die Abschnitte der Saale und der Weißen Elster als Hauptvorfluter des Gebietsausschnitts waren zu DDR-Zeiten insbesondere durch die Abwassereinleitungen der Zellstoff- und Papierindustrie, der chemischen Großbetriebe und die Einleitung von unzureichend geklärtem kommunalen Abwasser aus dem Gebiet Halle/Merseburg stark belastet.

Auffällig sind auch heute noch die hohen Gehalte an AOX (adsorbierbare organische Halogenverbindungen) und DOC (Gehalt an gelöstem organischem Kohlenstoff) im Oberlauf der Saale (Standorte der Papier- und Zellstoffindustrie) und die nach wie vor erhebliche Salzbelastung sowie ein relativ hoher Nitratgehalt.

Probenahmeflächen

Probenarten

Analyte

Untersuchungszeitraum

1991 - 2019